Height.

Guest post by Dadirai.

I have a terrible fear of heights, which causes my body to shake uncontrollably.  My pores open up and I start to sweat.  My mind slowly drifts away into space. I begin to stare at the height and my mind starts to show me images or various ways I could die.  My stomach then starts to rumble, and the previous food I had eaten slowly works its way up my stomach. Looking and estimating the distance from the top of the cliff to the bottom just gets me shaking.

Now, standing at the end of the cliff, from my perspective it looked like I was slowly making my way to the edge. I could barely move a muscle.

I felt like I was trapped in an ice cube.

[Miss Roberts: What can you guys say about the imagery? What is the form, do you think? And if you had to pick a genre for this piece?]

14 thoughts on “Height.

  1. Jamie says:

    The words used gives me great imagery, such as when you said “Now, standing at the end of the cliff”. The form is informal, and it’s in the first person. The genre could be from a novel, or even a girls feelings is she was a gymnast or tight rope walker.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. samuvellah says:

    By describing how the person felt at that point, imagery was created. Phrases such as “shake uncontrollably”, “pores open up and I start to sweat” allow us to see in how nervous and terrified the person must have been of heights. The form could be a novel and the genre is adventure as she could be trying to conquer her fear.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Daphine says:

    I think that the form of the written piece of writing is a novel because it seems like a story and is not informative or factual. I think that the imagery created by the vocabulary is well enhanced by showing and not telling. For example, the phrase “My stomach starts to rumble, and the previous food l had eaten slowly works its way up my stomach” is a much better way of simply saying that she feels like vomiting. The genre could posssibly be adventure. This is because of the diction used such as “heights” and “cliffs” make me think that the author was indulging in some form of adventurous activity eg. bungee jumping. I also think that the different sentence lengths, both short and long used by the writer make reading the passage interesting. I also like the last phrase “l felt like l was trapped in an ice cube”, not only does it paint a picture in the reader’s head but it also tells the reader how the writer felt as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brittney says:

    the form to me feels like a novel writing because she is telling us about something that she feels and has expericed or been through. And with the way she describes how she is feeling like , ” causes my body to shake uncontrollably” and ” cliff” and “heights” and “the distance from the top of the cliff to the bottom just gets me shaking” all these things help create an image in my head of what is going on and alomost what she is experiencing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ashleigh_hugo_22 says:

    this is a good example of showing and not telling and is in the form of a novel as it is writtten in the first person. This could be written from a gymansts point of view. the writer also uses alot of imagery such as “my pores start to open up” and “my mind starts to show me images or various ways I could die.” this helps convey the writes fear of heights and i think by the language used it is like the writer is telling u what is going on in their mind and helps you picture their feelings and their view at that time. The sentence “l felt like l was trapped in an ice cube”, hepls the reader picture the writers feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Francesca says:

    The form of the extract seems to be a novel due to its descriptive nature that tells a story. It lacks the informative structure to be any other form. I would say the genre is adventure because the writer plays on the subjects sense of fear and danger.The imagery in this extract is created through the indirect telling of the subjects feelings and reactions to heights as well as the diction used. The writer instead of explicitly saying that the subject wanted to vomit he describes it by saying ‘the previous food l had eaten slowly works its way up my stomach’. This is an example of showing the reader what is going on instead of telling.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Courtney Ward says:

    This is very descriptive of all the different feelings that the girl is feeling, it goes deeper than just “I was scared” it describes how she starts to sweat with nerves and how unsettled her stomach is. Based on the content this ia most likely a novel and is in the first person. The fact that she imagines different ways she could die shows that she is scared of heights and may be a very anxious and/or paranoid person. She probably also does experience heights very often as she would might have reacted differently if dhe encountered them more often.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lkhanyisile sibanda says:

    The form could be informal.l think the imagery is being created by the strong and descriptive vocabulary that was used, such as “terrible fear of heights”and “shake uncontrollably”it also shows how scared she is.It also brings out the different feelings that the girl is feeling.The genre being a piece taken from a novel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

