The F Word

Hi all!

I hope you had a great weekend. I’m sorry that we won’t have our class today, but I thought I’d post a link to some interesting thoughts on Feminism, as per our discussion last week.

I wanted to post a link to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s TedTalk “We Should All Be Feminists” but then I remembered I live in Zimbabwe now and people can’t be watching YouTube clips that are 30 minutes long. Instead, I found these extracts from the publication that resulted from that talk. Go have a look; I’d love to hear your thoughts!

http://www.feminist.com/resources/artspeech/genwom/adichie.html

Do you agree with some of her points?

One thought on “The F Word

  1. Mandz_2.0 says:

    i agree on that girls should be taken seriously no matter what they wear. Its not the gender that is important but what the person can teach you.
    I also agree on the part where “Masculinity is a hard, small cage, and we put boys inside this cage”. I feel like nowadays that is how boys are raised. Even though they are boys it does not mean that they can not be vulnerable.
    Feminism is a good thing. Girls should be taught to as successful as they want and not to limit them to a certain extent. The succes of women should not threaten men but help them see that women are just as capable as they are in succeding in life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

