The Refugee

Guest Post by Leah
Featured Image: “Over the Fence”, a painting made from instant coffee by Alwy Fadhel, from The Refugee Art Project 

The refugee

My body was my homeland, some uncharted country
My wild soul a nomad longing to be free

I stumble through the wreckage, theres nothing left to save

but the one who caused this damage told me to be brave

My skin bares my battle wounds; a tattered livery

I will escape this dreadful feud with my conspiracy

Malevolent forces collide with my amour from outside

While my hope begins to hide under broken bits of pride

                      But;

I have no empathy for those who have fought against me

I shall become a refugee of my own territory

I think I’m on the edge now; so close I could fall

I’ll leave behind a body; an empty vessel of war

In the comments below, can you suggest what you think are themes of this poem?
What is it about and what is your opinion on its content?
Perhaps comment on the literary devices used?

4 thoughts on “The Refugee

  1. Jamie says:

    I think that the theme of this poem involves war. A country might have been attacked and this is someone seeing everything after the devastation and expressing their feelings to what they are seeing. It gives great detail of the writers opinions “I have no empathy for those who have fought against me” shows that he does not care and that everything is ruined because of them. “My skin bares my battle wounds; a tattered livery” this is proof that the writer was part of this war that had happened and that the evidence he has is his uniform being ruined from the battle that went on. “My body was my homeland” the writer is referring to to his body been this home, and with the battle wounds the were on him shows that hime will never be the same, it will never heal.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ash_h_22 says:

    the writer has used a very large vocabulary by using words such as Malevolent to help create a feeling of empathy in the reader. I think this is based after a war as the writer has “no empathy” for those who have faught against him and his skin bares his “battle wounds; a tatted livery”. This poem strikes me as somebody who has been through a hard time and is describing how they have got up and carried on going even after a war. The writer refers to his body as his homeland which means he has nowhere to go and bares scars that will forever be a part of him, a constant reminder of that war.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

