Fresh Meat.

Guest Post by Ruva C
Featured Image is “Stalking Lioness” by Richard Schmidt

I lay on the ground face down..still as a log.. I felt the beast’s hot breath as it sniffed down my neck.
How I got myself into this situation only the Lord knows. The last thing I remembered was that I was at the edge of the lion’s cage. And now here I was pretending to be dead in the hopes that it would go to fresh meat. Little did I know that it could smell my blood moving through my veins…

 

What did you guys think as you read this? Did the writer help in painting a realistic image in your minds?

10 thoughts on “Fresh Meat.

  1. Brittney says:

    I think the writer could have been a bit more descriptive but with what has been said it’s still enough to help myself create a image in my head of what the scene could actually be like.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Precious Munyaka says:

    yes i do imagine the scenario but imagination is already taking me futher of what could have happened…..I also make me wonder why the beast hasnt devoured the writer yet…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mandz_2.0 says:

    i think the writer can be very descriptive more in what he felt during that moment, like maybe the fear that they felt and the adrenaline pumping through their veins, it could have painted a better picture of the situation and given the readers a sense of the situation. The writer could have also included the smells that were in the area and what was felt like objects in the area. Although the situation was made clear in the paragraph, the writer could have added more in order to attract the audience to want to read more.

    Like

  4. ashleigh.22. says:

    the writer uses such sentences such as “I lay on the ground face down..still as a log.. I felt the beast’s hot breath as it sniffed down my neck.” to create suspense although i thought the writer could have made it longer and more descriptive in the way he was feeling e.g a sense of fear or the adrenaline going through his body. the writer could have included senses in this piece describe the bush he was in and it can also help me as a reader to imagine the situation more clearley. i think the writer also could have gone further as to what happens next as this creates a feeling of suspence for the reader to.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jamie says:

    it does not show enough information to have a full visual of what is happening in my mind. There is also a little bit of suspense in the this post, when the beasts breath was felt on his his neck, although with the help of more descriptions there could be more anticipation created as well as adrenaline rush.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

